“TÜBA AWARDS” consisting of International Academy Prizes, Young Scientists Award Programme (TÜBA-GEBİP) and University Textbooks Award Programme (TÜBA-TESEP) given by Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA) under the auspices of the Presidency have been awarded.

Four scientists in three different categories won TÜBA International Academy Prize; a total of 31 scientists in four fields -including four scientists in polar studies specific to this year- won TÜBA-GEBİP Prize; and eight textbooks were awarded TÜBA-TESEP Prize. TÜBA-GEBİP Prize, which is given every year as part of the mission of TÜBA to encourage, appreciate and award scientists, was awarded to 31 young scientists with high achievements from 21 universities and two institutions in 2020. So, the number of TÜBA-GEBİP Prize-winner scientists has risen to 539.

This year, TÜBA-GEBİP Prize winners included 4 young scientists with high achievements from 4 different universities and institutions winning the “TÜBA-GEBİP Polar Studies Prize” for the “Antarctic Scientific Research and Science Base Project” which was determined as a strategic and national priority field.

In the field of Polar Studies, Assoc. Prof. Burcu ÖZSOY, Acting Director of TÜBİTAK Marmara Research Center Polar Research Institute and Faculty Member of Istanbul Technical University Maritime Faculty, was awarded the TÜBA GEBİP Prize for her high achievements.

Assoc. Prof. Burcu ÖZSOY started her career in polar studies in 2005 and got her PhD in the USA on the Antarctic Sea Ice. Having visited the Arctic and Antarctic for many times, Assoc. Prof. ÖZSOY served as the founding director of Istanbul Technical University Polar Research Center (PolReC) from 2015 to 2019, and she has been serving as the Acting Director of TÜBİTAK MAM Polar Research Institute with success since the establishment of the Institute. She has contributed much to the formation of the Turkish National Polar Science Program, the conduct of Turkish Antarctic Expeditions as expedition leader, expedition executive or expedition coordinator, and thus to the achievement of studies in the Antarctic. With the projects she has been conducting in the last four years, she has played a significant role in the dispatch of over seventy scientists and research specialists to the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Also, she made scientific contributions for the opening of Turkey’s first Polar Science House in the Selale Park of Tuzla Municipality established with a view to contributing the young generation to have awareness on polar regions and contributed to the establishment of many polar research clubs by student groups in schools from primary schools to universities. Besides, she represented Turkish polar studies in international arena and meetings, allowed tens of postgraduates to study on polar sciences, spent effort in the shooting of Turkey’s first polar documentary film, contributed to the publication of many research studies on polar sciences and played an important role in the writing of Turkish books on polar regions and in the creation of Turkish know-how and memory on polar regions.

Also, Assoc. Prof. Kamil Boratay ALICI from TÜBİTAK Space Technologies Research Institute was awarded prize in the field of “Engineering Sciences”.

All the prizes will be handed to winners by the President of Turkey Recep Tayyip ERDOĞAN with a ceremony in the Presidential Complex at a later date to be announced in the coming days.

For detailed information: http://www.tuba.gov.tr/tr/haberler/akademiden-haberler/2020-yili-tuba-odulleri-aciklandi

-A +A